‘The Dark Pictures Anthology’ has a name for its next game after trademark filing



The developers of “The Dark Pictures Anthology” seem set to work on a new game in the series months before the release of its third installment.

A trademark filing with Justia Trademarks gave fans a taste of what the next game will be, especially its name.

According to the record, an upcoming game in “The Dark Pictures Anthology” will be called “The Devil in Me”.

“The Dark Pictures: The Devil in Me”: what we know so far

(Photo: The Dark Pictures anthology official webpage)

The developer trademark registration of “The Dark Pictures Anthology” doesn’t say much about the game beyond its name and logo.

Justia brands deposit lists June 28, 2021 as the filing date and Supermassive Games as the current owners of its brand. The filing, at the time of going to press, is listed as a new application that has not been assigned to a reviewer.

As for the logo of “The Dark Pictures: The Devil in Me”, the file describes it as being composed of the “word THE above the words DARK PICTURES, stacked on the words THE DEVIL IN ME”.

The letter v in “devil” is also stylized. A magnifying glass and a skull encrusted with a compass complete the design. The logo design for “The Devil in Me” is consistent with the designs of the first three games in the series.

Background to “The Dark Pictures Anthology”

“The Dark Pictures Anthology” is a Survival Horror video game series developed by Supermassive Games and published by Bandai Namco. “The Dark Pictures Anthology” has the same developer as “Until Dawn”.

Related article: How to survive in “Until Dawn”

Each game allows the player to make decisions for the characters that ultimately affect how the narrative unfolds as each decision has a corresponding consequence.

There will be eight games in “The Dark Pictures Anthology” and two of them have already been released. The first game, “The Dark Pictures Anthology: Man of Medan” was released in August 2019 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One and Microsoft Windows.

The second game in the series, “The Dark Pictures Anthology: Little Hope”, was released last October for the same platforms.

‘The Dark Pictures Anthology: House of Ashes’

The Dark Pictures Anthology: House of Ashes

(Photo: The Dark Pictures anthology official webpage)

The third game in the series, “The Dark Pictures Anthology: House of Ashes” is scheduled for release in October. Unlike its predecessors, the third installment will be playable on more platforms. These include PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X / S, and Microsoft Windows.

According to Comic, the story of “House of Ashes” takes place in 2003 during the Iraq war. Like the previous episodes in the series, this will also be an interactive dramatic survival horror game.

“In search of weapons of mass destruction, a team made up of US special forces, the air force and the CIA is sent on a mission to unearth an underground chemical weapon which has been captured by satellite,” according to the report. Will Doyle, Game Director at Supermassive Games.

Doyle also confirmed to Comic Book that actress Ashley Tisdale will be cast in the game.

Also Read: ‘Until Dawn’: Why Supermassive Games’ Survivor Horror Title Must Be On Your Radar

This article is the property of Tech Times

Written by Isabelle James

2021 TECHTIMES.com All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.